Skip to main content

Second Quarterly Winners of College Savings Drawing Announced

Parents Entered in Drawing After Receiving College and Career Planning Information for Their Students

December 19, 2022

Thirty-eight Iowa parents and guardians each received $250 in college savings deposits after their entries were randomly selected in a quarterly drawing sponsored by Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation®. The winners were among 849 eligible participants who entered after receiving free college and career planning information for their middle and high school students.

The information service, SP3 or Student Planning Pointers for Parents, is provided by the nonprofit student loan provider to help parents and guardians guide their students through eighth through 12th grades with an eye to the future.

"Parents are often unsure of how to help their students think about and plan for the future. We want to help them understand the planning steps that apply to each student's grade level and what they as a family can do now to prepare for success in college and careers," said Steve McCullough, president and CEO of Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation.

The free service is provided via twice-monthly emails to parents and guardians who sign up at Registered recipients have the opportunity to enter the quarterly drawings for deposits into a college savings account.

"The articles have brought up things I never would have thought of or considered," said two-time winner Michael May of Mason City, Iowa. "They are a great resource for parents and students to get educated on the process of going to college and what things that need to be considered … ahead of time."

Sharon Swarts, a 2021 third-quarter winner of Newton, Iowa, said, "I have used the information to dig deeper into topics that may have gone unanswered." She added, "I couldn't wait to share with my son that taking the time to do little things could pay off. We gained the knowledge to help with his future and earned him some extra money for college. Win, win!"

The SP3 service is provided in partnership with College Savings Iowa, ICAN, the Iowa School Counselor Association and Strada Education Network.

State Treasurer of Iowa Michael L. Fitzgerald remarked, "While financial aid, scholarships and grants can reduce the cost of education, most families still need to set aside their own funds to pay for tuition and fees. We know that saving for higher education may seem like a daunting feat, but with programs like [SP3] and College Savings Iowa, we hope to ease the financial stress many families face."

Articles are carefully researched and informed by 40 years of experience in the higher education industry. Additionally, parents and guardians are provided with multiple resources to further explore topics of particular interest.

The information is targeted to specific grade levels to correspond with students' current stages. The consistent format explains why the topic is important, what students can do now, additional steps they should take later and what parents can do. In addition, talking points are provided as a guideline for approaching the topic with students.

More information and simple signup is available at

2022 Second-Quarter Winners

Each winner below received a $250 deposit to an established 529 college savings plan account.

  • Barb Blake, Indianola
  • Mark Brown, Iowa City
  • Debra Cramer, Johnston
  • Kristi Dewes, West Des Moines
  • Heidi Eriksen, Iowa Falls
  • Sharie Greif, Marion
  • Kathy Grete, Cedar Falls
  • Diane Hintzsche, Elkhart
  • Emily Hubbell, Laurens
  • Angie Kamradt, Sanborn
  • Jeannie Krambeer, Wadena
  • Ben Lueken, Ely
  • Kelly Markham, Bettendorf
  • Michael May, Mason City
  • Alison McLaughlin, Central City
  • Nick Mescher, Farley
  • Tasha Monthei, Cooper
  • Jennifer Moorman, Ankeny
  • Pam Moos, Des Moines
  • John Munson, Carroll
  • Aimee Mussman, Cedar Rapids
  • Jenny Nitchals, Estherville
  • Leah Olson, Hiawatha
  • Jennell Owens, Ankeny
  • Denise Parkins, Indianola
  • David Patterson, Ankeny
  • Jesse Peterson, Cedar Rapids
  • Susan Pyle, Ames
  • Stacy Rolfes, LeMars
  • Chris Rubel, Bettendorf
  • Jonathon Schwebach, Ankeny
  • Rhonda Slight, Storm Lake
  • Kelly Smith, Des Moines
  • David SmolikHagen, Waverly
  • Angela Veenstra, Lynnville
  • Jennifer Welbig, Armstrong
  • Don Whalen, Cedar Rapids
  • Katy Wiley, Creston

# # #

Media Contact

Christopher Weishaar, Digital PR Specialist, (515) 273-7102,