Skip to main content

Who We Are

Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation, doing business as ISL Education Lending, is a nonprofit corporation offering private student loans for students and families who have exhausted other sources of aid. In addition, we provide scholarships and programs for families and reinvest funds in programs to benefit students and borrowers.

Established in 1979, we are based in West Des Moines, self-funded and self-capitalized. For 40 years, we have worked to support the local economy by maintaining and growing jobs and providing competitive salaries and benefits. Along with our subsidiary, we employ more than 150 people and manage $2.6 billion in student loans. We do not have shareholders nor do we receive state appropriations.

Operating as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, we are subject to strict regulation of our exempt purpose and use of funds.


Our mission is to help Iowa students and families obtain the resources necessary to succeed in postsecondary education.

See how we put our mission into practice.

About Our Subsidiary

Aspire Resources Inc. was originally created as ISL Service Corp. in 2001 as a wholly owned, for-profit subsidiary of Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation. Its purpose is to perform functions not specifically included in our original tax-exempt designation. Aspire disburses private student loans on behalf of its partnering lenders, transmits student loan data among postsecondary institutions and lenders, and provides customer service on behalf of its external business partners and to borrowers with federal and private student loans.

Aspire employees perform customer service for borrowers under the name Aspire Servicing Center. Aspire employees also provide private loan services and facilitate student loan data transfers for postsecondary educational institutions and lenders through the iLink Service Center.

Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation, the parent company and sole owner of Aspire, annually appoints the Aspire board of directors. All revenues beyond operating expenses and reserves are returned to the parent company to fulfill its nonprofit purpose.

Visit to learn more about Aspire, or visit to learn more about Aspire Servicing Center.

Board of Directors

The Iowa Student Loan board of directors is appointed by the governor of Iowa. Board members represent education, banking and the general public. The board provides extensive levels of oversight and checks and balances ensuring the corporation adheres to its mission and meets its obligations.

Board member, Christine Hensley

Christine Hensley
Chair, Des Moines
Represents: Banking Institutions

Board member, Scott Schneidermann

Scott Schneidermann
Vice chair, Rock Rapids
Represents: Iowa Banking Institutions

Board member, Dan Clute

Dan Clute
Represents: General Public

Board member, Rob Denson

Rob Denson
Represents: Community Colleges

Board member, Nancy Dunkel

Nancy Dunkel
Represents: Regents Institutions

Board member, Juan Garcia

Juan Garcia
Represents: General Public

Board member, Julie Pingel

Julie Pingel
Fort Dodge
Represents: Credit Unions

Board member, Suzette Radke

Suzette Radke
Storm Lake
Represents: General Public

Board member, Marcia Rogers

Marcia Rogers
Cedar Rapids
Represents: General Public

Board member, Jim Schipper

Jim Schipper
Represents: Banking Institutions

Board member, Adam Voigts

Adam Voigts
Represents: Private Colleges and Universities


Board of Directors Meeting Schedule and Minutes

Pursuant to Iowa Student Loan policy, board meetings are open to the public. Listed are the dates, times, locations and details of the Iowa Student Loan Board meetings, along with links to meeting minutes.

Board meeting information
Board of Directors Meeting Schedule and Minutes
Date Time Location Details
September 26, 2023 (PDF) 10:00 a.m. Boardroom Board Meeting
November 28, 2023 (PDF) 11:30 a.m. Boardroom Board Meeting
January 23, 2024 (PDF) 11:00 a.m. Zoom Board Meeting
March 26, 2024 (PDF) 12:00 p.m. Boardroom Board Meeting
(Strategic Planning)
May 21, 2024 (PDF) 11:00 a.m. Boardroom Board Meeting
July 16, 2024 (PDF) 11:30 a.m. Ankeny Board Meeting
September 24, 2024 TBD Boardroom Board Meeting
November 26, 2024 TBD Boardroom Board Meeting

Executives and Management

Executive, Steven W. McCullough

Steven W. McCullough
President and Chief Executive Officer

Executive, Erin Lacey

Erin Lacey
Executive Vice President and Corporate Treasurer

Management, Cindy Bartz

Cindy Bartz
Senior Vice President of Project Management, Chief Information Officer and Corporate Secretary

Management, Joe Bird

Joe Bird
Senior Vice President of Business Development and Client Relations

Management, Chris Hammerstrom

Chris Hammerstrom
Vice President of Operations

Management, Jen Hempel

Jen Hempel
Vice President of Compliance and Communications

Management, Ron Foresman

Ron Foresman
Vice President of Accounting and Risk Management