2018 Save Now, Save Later Program Winners Announced

Fifty Iowa Parents Awarded $1,000 Deposits to College Savings Iowa Accounts for High School Students

Dec. 4, 2018

Parents across the state of Iowa are getting a $1,000 boost to their student's College Savings Iowa® account this winter, thanks to Iowa Student Loan's Save Now, Save Later: College Savings Plan Parent Giveaway.

Fifty parents have been chosen as winners in the program's fifth year. Each parent will receive the $1,000 deposited directly to the College Savings Iowa account of their registered child. The registration period ran during September and October and was open to Iowa residents who have a student in grades six through 12 at an Iowa school.

"It is crucial to start thinking about future plans before they become a stressful scramble at the end of high school," said Melissa Boeck, a 2018 winner from Denison. "Save Now, Save Later is a great program to start getting things rolling in a helpful direction without being too overwhelming."

Parents who registered had a chance to experience the Parent Handbook, a new online educational module from Iowa Student Loan. The handbook provides financial literacy tips via text and video for parents with students in middle school or high school.

After the registration period, entries were chosen at random from nearly 4,000 qualified participants. Iowa Student Loan works directly with College Savings Iowa on the giveaway. College Savings Iowa is the state's direct-sold 529 program, administered by State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald.

Winners of the Save Now, Save Later program

Jenna KimIowa CityAmanda SisnerosCalmar
Leslie DobbsUrbandaleSally MagnerCarroll
Loni HetrickKeokukJana EdwardsWest Des Moines
Jodi WittrockMilfordCecilia CopperstoneCouncil Bluffs
Roberta MalloyDes MoinesRhonda FreiburgerSherrill
Aaron TilkesMason CityStacie HostetlerColo
Jessica HunterDes MoinesTammy HaileOllie
Stephanie KochSeymourSara HeisdorfferWalford
Melissa BoeckDenisonMary KnutsonDallas
Rebecca ScharleppRock ValleyJoseph MorelandIowa City
Roxanna PattersonWaukeeLaTrice ClarkDavenport
Kim MalichkyWashingtonPaula KjergaardKimballton
Eric TruittWaukeeDena SytsmaHarcourt
Angie SmithCouncil BluffsLisa RolingCascade
Jay KruegerDes MoinesTracy PrattCedar Rapids
Jayaprada ArikelaWaverlyAmy McAlisterRockwell City
Brenda OlsonRobinsMei Hing Jan ChengCoralville
Lindsay JohnsonAnkenyMark EldridgeSpirit Lake
Bridget LemkerCedar RapidsRandy LuzumCalmar
Timothy O’NeillHarlanKira OregonOto
Jeannette BrownDes MoinesDean SchwickerathReadlyn
Jennifer LammMount PleasantMichele ManternachOskaloosa
Sara McKayKnoxvilleStacy KleppeOssian
David RubsamCedar RapidsDenise ParkinsIndianola
Laura TrimbleDubuqueDebra VenzkeIowa City

# # #

Media Contact

Christopher Weishaar, Digital PR Specialist, (515) 273-7102, cweishaar@studentloan.org