Second Quarterly Winners of College Savings Drawing Announced

Parents Entered in Drawing After Receiving College and Career Planning Information for Their Students

Oct. 2, 2020

Thirty-nine Iowa parents and guardians each received $250 in college savings deposits after their entries were randomly selected in a quarterly drawing sponsored by Iowa Student Loan®. The winners were among 408 eligible participants who entered after receiving free college and career planning information for their middle and high school students.

The information service, SP3 or Student Planning Pointers for Parents, is provided by the nonprofit student loan provider to help parents and guardians guide their students through eighth through 12th grades with an eye to the future.

"Parents are often unsure of how to help their student think about and plan for the future. We want to help them understand the planning steps that apply to each student's grade level and what they as a family can do now to prepare for success in college and careers," said Steve McCullough, president and CEO of Iowa Student Loan.

The free service is provided via twice-monthly emails to parents and guardians who sign up at Registered recipients have the opportunity to enter the quarterly drawings for deposits into a college savings account.

"I have found the SP3 emails to be very beneficial and helpful," said winner Tressa Walton of Vinton, Iowa. "They give helpful tips for each of my children's ages. … It is a great conversation starter to have with kids and get them thinking about their future or nudging them about information." Winner Quinn Ruhl from Keokuk, Iowa, agreed, saying, "The articles … have been a great asset. [They] are concise and full of good information. We have discussed many of these topics with our daughters and have used some of these ideas in our planning for their post[secondary] education." She added, "I would recommend this service to anyone who has children looking to further their education."

The SP3 service is provided in partnership with College Savings Iowa, ICAN, the Iowa School Counselor Association and Strada Education Network.

Articles are carefully researched and informed by 40 years of experience in the higher education industry. Additionally, parents and guardians are provided with multiple resources to further explore topics of particular interest.

The information is targeted to specific grade levels to correspond with students' current stages. The consistent format explains why the topic is important, what students can do now, additional steps they should take later and what parents can do. In addition, talking points are provided as a guideline for approaching the topic with students.

"SP3 helps school counselors provide our students and families with relevant, timely information regarding the postsecondary planning process," said Sheryl Cline, Linn-Mar high school counselor and president of the Iowa School Counselor Association. "Given that Iowa Student Loan is a respected partner in the postsecondary process, I know that I can trust the information that is shared with families in these newsletters."

More information and simple signup is available at

2020 Second-Quarter Winners

Each winner below received a $250 deposit to an established 529 college savings plan account.

  • Sara Arnold, Norwalk
  • Kim Lacey, Ankeny
  • Jayson Attwood, Cedar Rapids
  • Darin Lamont, Iowa City
  • Audrey Bell, Polk City
  • Andrea Lewerenz-Norris, Cedar Rapids
  • Lilly Boge, Farley
  • Sandra Mahoney, Urbandale
  • Cindy Bordenaro, Carroll
  • Carrie Mapes, Polk City
  • Katie Brooks, Ankeny
  • Brenda McAuliffe, Holy Cross
  • Frank Bulk, Sioux Center
  • Jennifer Mitchell, Clive
  • Heidi Crow, Tiffin
  • Jamie Ostrander, Carroll
  • Cindy Deahl, Marion
  • Jennell Owens, Ankeny
  • Shannan Fleming, Urbana
  • Quinn Ruhl, Keokuk
  • Tracey Goodrich, Greene
  • Heather Schmatt, Cedar Rapids
  • Michael Harger, Urbandale
  • LeAnn Schneider, Council Bluffs
  • Mary Herbert, DeSoto
  • Dawn Stultz, Ainsworth
  • Shari Higgins, Nevada
  • Daniel Walsh, Dubuque
  • Tim Hilton, Indianola
  • Tressa Walton, Vinton
  • Kristel Howell, Waukee
  • Jackie Webber, Marion
  • Matthew Kearns, Marion
  • Joan Weber, Marion
  • John Kellenberger, Algona
  • Scott Weiderin, Breda
  • Erika Keppy, Eldridge
  • Angela Young, Sioux City
  • Chad Klein, Newton

# # #

Media Contact

Christopher Weishaar, Digital PR Specialist, (515) 273-7102,