Iowa Student Loan
About Us Careers Contact Us
Iowa Student Loan

Winners Announced for Save Now, Save Later Program

Twenty Iowa Parents Awarded $1,500 Deposits to College Savings Iowa Accounts for High School Students

March 26, 2015

Parents across Iowa are getting a $1,500 boost to their student's College Savings Iowa® account this spring, thanks to Iowa Student Loan's Save Now, Save Later: College Savings Plan Parent Giveaway.

Registration for this new program began Aug. 18, 2014, and ran through Dec. 19, 2014. The program was open to Iowa residents who have a student in grade nine, 10, 11 or 12 at an Iowa high school.

"I like that the program engaged me in a new and fun way to learn about college savings information," said Julie Suhr, a winner from Sioux City. "The program can help parents by making them more aware of what is available to them and how they should start while their children are young, if possible."

Parents who registered were required to complete the co-signer version of Student Loan Game PlanSM, a free online, financial education tool offered by Iowa Student Loan. After the registration period, 20 entries were chosen at random from more than 2,000 qualified participants.

"Student Loan Game Plan gives you a very realistic understanding of what the cost of college is," said Ronald Degen, a winner from West Des Moines. "The program really drives home the fact that you can't start saving early enough."

All 20 winners will have a $1,500 deposit made into a new or existing College Savings Iowa® account for their eligible child. Iowa Student Loan worked directly with College Savings Iowa on the giveaway. College Savings Iowa is the state's direct-sold 529 program, administered by State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald.

Iowa Student Loan plans to launch another Save Now, Save Later: College Savings Plan Parent Giveaway in the fall.

Winners of the Save Now, Save Later program are:

Name City Name City
Julie King Ankeny Dan Nielsen Clive
Cathy Spenceri Des Moines Ronald Degen West Des Moines
Karla Dalton Central City Cristina Leguisano Des Moines
Michele Stiles Des Moines Frank Benjamin Fort Dodge
Susan Heinke Sioux City Carol Simpson Davenport
Bill Rhomberg Cedar Falls Don Whalen Cedar Rapids
Brenda Zylstra Larchwood Gregory Anderson West Des Moines
Julie Suhr Sioux City Dale DuVal Logan
Dina Dusek Cedar Rapids Doug Moser Colesburg
James McCabe Davenport Dennis Vonnahme Pocahontas

# # #

Media Contact

Megan Garrett, Corporate Communications & Media Relations, (515) 273-7145,

Additional Resources

Download the PDF version of this news release.
Privacy Terms of Use Identity Theft and Online Fraud

6775 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9305
Copyright ©2012-2019 Iowa Student Loan®

Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Online Privacy Statement
To access this website and web-based applications, use web browser versions that meet minimum security requirements. View compatible browsers.

Subject to credit approval, loans are made by Iowa Student Loan or Bank of Lake Mills. Bank of Lake Mills does not have an ownership interest in Iowa Student Loan. Bank of Lake Mills is not affiliated with the school you attended or are attending. Bank of Lake Mills is Member FDIC. Loan servicing, including billing and other customer service, will be provided by Aspire Servicing Center.